June 25, 2021
Effective October 1, 2021, Texas has amended the definition of “data processing services” under Section 151.0035 of the Texas Tax Code to exclude certain payment processing services for sales and use tax purposes. The “data processing service” definition is updated to exclude “the processing of a payment made by credit or debit cards” and “services exclusively to encrypt electronic payment information for acceptance onto a payment card network”. “Settling of an electronic payment transaction” is also not included in the definition of “data processing services” if settled by a federally insured financial institution. For the specific text of the enacting legislation, please see Senate Bill 153.
May 26, 2021
Effective May 18, 2021, Texas has updated and clarified the State provisions governing the Texas unclaimed property program to reduce administrative burden, improve effectiveness and efficiency, and eliminate ambiguities. The written notice required to be given by a holder to the owner of property valued at more than $250, must be delivered by mail to the last known address of the owner or by email. The notice must be delivered no later than the 60th day before the date the property is delivered to the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. The comptroller can sell or otherwise liquidate a security delivered to the comptroller. However, the comptroller cannot sell a security listed on an established stock exchange for less than the price prevailing on the exchange at the time of sale. The comptroller can sell a security not listed on an established exchange by any commercially reasonable method. The comptroller can waive the requirement of filing a claim and pay or deliver property directly to a person who does not file a claim if: (1) the person receiving the property is the reported owner of the property; (2) the comptroller reasonably believes the person is entitled to receive the property or payment; and (3) the property has a value of less than $5,000. For specific text of the bill, please see L. 2021, H1514.
May 21, 2021
Effective May 8, 2021, and applicable only to a report originally due on or after January 1, 2021, Texas will exclude from Texas Franchise Tax certain federal loans and grants issued due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. Under Franchise Tax regulations, a taxable entity must exclude from its total revenue qualifying loan or grant proceeds. “Qualifying loan or grant proceeds” means the amount of money received by a taxable entity that: (1) is: (a) a loan or grant under the federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, as amended by the Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) Flexibility Act; Consolidated Appropriations Act (CAA); American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA); and the PPP Extension Act; (b) a shuttered venue operator grant under the CAA, as amended by the ARPA; (c) microloan program recovery assistance under the CAA; or (d) a grant from the restaurant revitalization fund established under the ARPA; and (2) is not included in the taxable entity’s gross income for purposes of federal income taxation under certain sections the CAA or ARPA.
April 28, 2021
Texas has proposed amendments to the franchise tax research and development activities tax credit, and the research and development sales tax exemption. Taxpayers may only claim one of the two offerings—either the franchise tax credit or the sales tax exemption—for any qualifying research expenses that occur in Texas. Specifics of the proposals can be found in Texas Register Volume 46, Number 16 (April 16, 2021). Some highlights of the proposed changes offered by the Texas Comptroller include, among other things: adoption of the federal Four-Part test that determines whether research activities are “qualified research” conducted in Texas; expansion of the definition of “qualified research expense” to include definitions of “in-house research expenses” and “contract research expenses”; any research with respect to internal use software would be an excluded research activity (but there would be guidance on certain types of software that are not excluded as such); a taxpayer would be prohibited from claiming a manufacturing or resale sales tax exemption for tangible property claimed as a research expense; and taxpayers would be required to establish expenses claimed are eligible for the credit with clear and convincing evidence supported by contemporaneous documentation.
March 23, 2021
The Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts has announced that the due date for 2021 Texas Franchise Tax Reports is automatically extended from May 15, 2021 to June 15, 2021. The extension is in response to the recent winter storm and power outages in the state, and aligns the agency with the Internal Revenue Service, which extended the April 15 tax filing and payment deadline to June 15 for all Texas residents and businesses. Since the report extension is automatic, franchise taxpayers do not need to file any additional forms. Franchise taxpayers who need an extension beyond the June 15 deadline have the following options. Non-electronic funds transfer (non-EFT) taxpayers who cannot file by June 15 can file an extension request on or before June 15. They must pay 90% of the tax due for the current year, or 100% of the tax reported as due for the prior year, with the extension request. Non-EFT taxpayers who request an extension have until November 15 to file their report and pay the remainder of the tax due. Mandatory EFT taxpayers who cannot file by June 15 can file an extension request on or before June 15. They must pay 90% of the tax due for the current year, or 100% of the tax reported as due for the prior year, with the extension request. Mandatory EFT taxpayers who request an extension have until August 15 to file their report. However, on or before August 15, EFT taxpayers can request a second extension of time to file their report and must pay the remainder of any tax due with their extension request. The August 15 extension request extends the report due date to November 15. Any payments made after August 15 will be subject to penalty and interest. ( News Release, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, 02/25/2021 .)
March 21, 2020
Texas Comptroller Glenn Hegar reminds businesses that the sales tax collected in February 2020 was due by March 20, 2020. Although this may be difficult for businesses due to COVID-19, the tax represents money collected from individual Texans and expected to be available to provide emergency health care and support other emergency operations. The Comptroller urges businesses to make use of the agency’s online tools to meet deadlines.
On December 20, 2019, the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts (Comptroller) finalized proposed amendments to Rule 3.586 to implement an economic nexus based on a threshold of $500,000 of gross receipts in Texas. Some months ago, the Comptroller’s office proposed making such amendments to the regulation to implement the decision in Wayfair which pertained to sales tax within the Supreme Court ruling; with the state extending such application to the Franchise tax.
In most states, corporate tax nexus standards is commonly applied using a “doing business” standard, often resulting in broad activities establishing nexus unless otherwise federally protected. In many cases, such activity includes deriving income attributable to sources within the state, or directing activities at state customers for the purpose of selling them goods or services. Although many states are unclear if they incorporate a sales type threshold in determining nexus, it is unquestionable that in many of these states, economic nexus could be triggered with sales sourced to the state.
In contrast to most states, previously Texas has explicitly applied a physical nexus standard for the franchise tax. Even after the Wayfair decision in 2018, the state expressed that they have not moved away from the physical presence requirement for franchise tax.
To learn more about the implications of this tax, click here.