Bookmark and Share

Firm News and Events

Archive

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

WS+B forms Storm Sandy Task Force, Post-Storm Recovery Plan


Every business in New Jersey and the Greater New York area has likely been affected by Superstorm Sandy at some degree - at minimum with power outages; and sadly, some with complete devastation. In response, WithumSmith+Brown formed the Storm Sandy Task Force, whose mission is to help with post-storm damage claims and recovery plans.

 

Through our vast resources, there are many ways WithumSmith+Brown can assist individuals, businesses and governmental bodies through the recovery process, helping solve their immediate problems at hand:

 

·         Preparation of property damage claim and/or business interruption reports;

·         Defense of such damage claim reports;

·         Monitoring clean-up and construction operations;

·         Navigating the insurance and FEMA process;

·         Related tax, audit and accounting services, particularly how damage claims and resulting recovery funds will impact their 2012 tax returns.

 

Immediately following the disastrous storm, members of the WS+B team pulled together to form the Storm Sandy Task Force, comprised of Industry Practice Leaders and members of our Litigation Support Team our Tax Department, all of whom have the deep expertise required for these challenging times:

 

Litigation and Damage Claims/Business Interruption Services:

·         Bill Morrison, wmorrison@withum.com

·         Tom Reck, treck@withum.com  

·         Tom Hoberman, thoberman@withum.com

·         Randy Paulikens, rpaulikens@withum.com

·         Jack O'Donnell, jodonnell@withum.com

·         Ken DeGraw, kdegraw@withum.com

·         Jim Weeks, jweeks@withum.com

 

Tax Services:

·         Dave Springsteen, dspringsteen@withum.com

 

Not-for-Profit, Government:

·         Nancy Davis, ndavis@withum.com

·         Richard Cohen, rcohen@withum.com  

·         Jim Decker, jdecker@withum.com

 

Real Estate and Construction:

·         Mike Stallone, mstallone@withum.com

·         Rebecca Machinga, rmachinga@withum.com

·         Lou Sandor, lsandor@withum.com

·         Ron Martino, rmartino@withum.com

 

Insurance:

·         Lewis Bivona, lbivona@withum.com

 

Technology:

·         Jim Bourke, jbourke@withum.com

 

Healthcare:

·         Scott Mariani, smariani@withum.com

·         Tony Panico, apanico@withum.com

 

Public Companies, Compliance:

·         Tom Basilo, tbasilo@withum.com

·         Bernie Leone, bleone@withum.com

 

WS+B also established a post-storm resources section on the home page of withum.com, which links to articles of interest, helpful online resources, and a .pdf of Insurance Claim Tips which everyone should have. 

 

Our goal is to help the New Jersey and Greater New York business communities Be in a Position of Strength once again. 

 



Back to Firm News and Events

Viral Flash Mob Video Viral Flash Mob Video

A Firm Gone Viral

On a Friday morning in early December, some 150 accountants and staff boarded a Manhattan-bound R train. It's doubtful any of their fellow commuters guessed they were all from the CPA firm of WithumSmith+Brown. That is, until the dancing started.

View Full Article.
View Flash Mob Video.


HLB International * A member of HLB International, a world-wide network of professional independent accounting firms and business advisers.